The latest travel restrictions on South Africa

Travel Restrictions
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

This week, France announced it is tightening its travel restrictions on residents returning from South Africa. Travellers will now have to endure a mandatory ten-day quarantine period which will be overseen by French police.

Speaking to CNN, South Africa Tourism chief executive Sisa Ntshona said that domestic tourism will be South Africa’s ‘bread and butter’ for the foreseeable future as the country continues to face international restrictions.

Travel website Skyscanner’s handy mapping tool shows Covid-19 travel restrictions around the world using data from the International Air Transport Association (IATA). As of this week, Skyscanner’s map shows that South Africa currently has 84 ‘major restrictions’ from other countries. The data is somewhat encouraging, as the current number is a decrease from last month’s 120 major restrictions on SA travellers.

Read More | 103 countries South Africans can travel to visa-free

These 84 countries have either suspended travel, may be closed to entry, or entry may only be possible if you are a citizen/meet strict entrance requirements. Additionally, there are 68 countries (down from 94) with moderate restrictions on South Africa. Meaning travel is possible to these 68 countries but only if travellers meet certain entry requirements which can include taking Covid-19 tests.

Lastly, only two countries have ‘low-risk restrictions’ for South Africans, the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica. Here, travellers won’t have to face enforced quarantine periods.

View Skyscanner’s new mapping tool for more details on travel restrictions and find more trending content, right here.

Like it? Share with your friends!