The 58 countries on South Africa’s banned travel list

banned travel
Photo by yousef alfuhigi on Unsplash

South Africa’s borders have officially opened today (1 October 2020). On Wednesday, Ministers from the National Coronavirus Command Council announced a list of countries on SA’s banned travel list and outlined how the country’s borders will be re-opened for travel.

Department of International Relations and Cooperation, Naledi Pandor, confirmed during Wednesday’s briefing that a limited number of ports of entry and borders will be opened from October 1 as part of a gradual and cautious approach to reopening.

“In reopening these selected ports of entry and borders we will be guided by epidemiological and transmission rates both in South Africa and the traveller’s countries of origin,” she said.

Read More |
New driving laws for South Africa – here’s what you need to know

Take a look at the countries currently on SA’s banned travel list including Brazil which was not included during the initial announcement.

Brazil, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Faroe Islands, France, French Polynesia, Georgia, Gibraltar, Greece, Guam, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Nepal, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Palau, Paraguay, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Qatar, Russia, San Marino, St Marteen, Slovakia, Slovenia, Suriname, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, US Virgin Islands, Venezuela

Read more on trending news, right here.

Like it? Share with your friends!