Switzerland adds South Africa to its ‘green list’ for travel

Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

The good news continues. Switzerland has moved South Africa on to its green list for travel, meaning South African travellers will not be required to quarantine upon arrival.

The news comes shortly after President Cyril Ramaphosa announced the country’s move down to alert level 1 on Wednesday 16 September 2020, confirming that SA’s borders will reopen on 1 October.

According to Switzerland’s Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), people arriving from certain destinations are required to go into mandatory 14-day quarantine. Not even a negative Covid-19 test can exempt people from having to isolate.

Read More | Remote workers can now spend a year on the island of Bermuda for R4300

Anyone who contravenes this requirement will be fined up to 10,000 Swiss francs, the equivalent of roughly R180,000. Switzerland is currently in 58th position worldwide with 48 265 total cases.

The country is constantly updating its mandatory quarantine list which is based on several factors, including the number of active cases in a specific country over the past seven days.

South Africa along with Ecuador, Faroe Islands, and Guatemala have been removed from the mandatory quarantine list according to Switzerland’s most recent update.

It’s a list that changes regularly and countries can be added back onto it at any time based on active caseload.

Read more on the latest travel news, right here.

houses near valley with trees

Like it? Share with your friends!