South Africa returns to level 1 lockdown – here are the new rules

level 1 lockdown
Elevate | Pexels

South Africa officially moved down from alert level 3 to level 1. During his national address on Sunday evening (28 February), President Cyril Ramaphosa said it was clear that the country had emerged from its second wave.

South Africa recorded less than 10,000 new infections in the last week, compared to 40,000 in the last week of January and 90,000 in the last week of December 2020.

Below is a short breakdown of the amended lockdown rules. Failure to adhere to level 1 lockdown rules remains a criminal offence that could carry a six-month prison sentence, and/or a fine.

Read More | Price of alcohol and cigarettes to increase with immediate effect

Level 1 Lockdown Rules

Wearing a mask in public is still mandatory and failure to do so will remain a criminal offence.

Curfew, across the country, is now from 00.00 to 04:00 except for essential worker and those going to the airport. Closing Time Establishments will be 23:00. These include:

  • Cinemas / Theatres
  • Casinos
  • Museums / Galleries
  • Public swimming pools
  • Beaches / Public parks
  • Gyms and Fitness centres
  • Restaurants
  • Venues hosting sport / social / cultural / faith-based events

Nightclubs will unfortunately remain closed.

Sale of Alcohol
During level 1 lockdown, all restrictions on alcohol sales are lifted and normal trading hours will be allowed except after curfew.

Gatherings and Events
Religious, social, and cultural gatherings are now allowed. Indoor gatherings may not exceed 50% of venue capacity and may have a maximum of 100 guests. Outdoor gatherings may also not exceed 50% of venue capacity and can have a maximum of 250 attendees.

The Workplace
The regulations still state that anyone who is able to work from home must still do so. “However, persons will be permitted to perform any type of work outside the home. and to travel to and from work and for work purposes under Alert Level 1.” At their workplaces, there must be “strict” compliance of health protocols and social distancing measures, and the return to work must be phased in.

Borders and Travel
The 33 land borders that are currently closed will remain closed, while the 20 open borders will also stay open. The five airports permitted to allow international travel are: OR Tambo, Cape Town, King Shaka, Kruger Mpumalanga and Lanseria airports.

Travel on passenger ships for international leisure purposes remains banned.

Read more trending news, right here.

Like it? Share with your friends!