Down from 60 to 22 – here is the updated list of countries banned from entering South Africa

South Africa
Photo by redcharlie on Unsplash

In a statement on Monday, 19 October, The Department of Home Affairs released a reviewed list of countries banned from entering South Africa under lockdown level 1.

The new review only lists 22 banned countries – down from 60 when South Africa first opened its borders at the beginning of the month. The department said that the review of the list of high-risk countries was done in such a way that it strikes a balance between saving lives and protecting livelihoods.

People on the list of high-risk countries who may visit South Africa fall into the following categories:

  • Business travellers,
  • Holders of critical skills visas,
  • Investors
  • People on an international mission in sports, arts, culture and science.

Additionally, visitors (from both low and high-risk countries) who have a history of spending long periods in South Africa during summer, or who own property here, will be allowed to stay (subject to Covid-19 protocols) for three months or more.

Read More | Government announces its plans to ‘control public behaviour’ after lockdown

People wanting to travel to SA from high-risk countries (and who fall into the above categories) must apply for travel-exception via email here: with the following documents:

  • A copy of passport and/or temporary residence visa;
  • Proof of business activities to be undertaken in the Republic;
  • Proof of travel itinerary; and
  • Proof of address or accommodation in the Republic.

Below is the updated list of 22 countries banned from entering South Africa. Read more trending news, right here.

Banned from entering South Africa:
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Italy
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom
  • USA

Like it? Share with your friends!