Firework sites banned in Cape Town ahead of the festive season

Photo by Elisha Terada on Unsplash

According to an official statement by Mayoral Committee Member for Safety and Security, Alderman JP Smith, The City of Cape Town has decided not to opt for designated fireworks sites this year and has instead decided to officially ban them altogether.

According to the statement -which recieved a strong response from the public- a number of factors lead the City to change its mind this year, including “the cost associated with running the sites, which include deploying staff and resources, including Law Enforcement, Metro Police, Traffic and the Fire and Rescue Service, and the growing public sentiment opposing the use of fireworks.”

While most residents of Cape Town are relieved that the risky and intrusive activity has been banned, a handful of people are disappointed that they will no longer be able to celebrate religious and cultural occasions with festive lighting. Discharging of fireworks is not allowed in terms of the Community Fire Safety By-law and those who do so will now be fined.

Related | #HeyEllen: Three guys from South Africa are hitchhiking to The Ellen Degeneres Show

“We remind residents that, in terms of Section 30 of the Explosives Act of 1956, the use or detonation of any fireworks in any building and public thoroughfare is liable to an R200 fine; selling fireworks to a child or anyone under the age of 16 is liable to a R300 fine; allowing a child or person under the age of 16 to handle fireworks without adult supervision is liable to a R300 fine,” the statement read.

The public are encouraged to report any information regarding the sale or use of fireworks to The City of Cape Town on their Public Emergency Call Centre on 107 from a landline or 021 480 7700 from a cell phone or to the South African Police Service on 10111.

Read more on the latest local news right here


Like it? Share with your friends!