EP of The Day | Ecoteric – ‘Zenesis’ Universal Tribe Records

Ally Friedmann Photography

South African born musician Julian Venter is the mind behind Ecoteric: a unique composition of deep and progressive electronica with a balanced touch of the unorthodox.

Being raised in a musically driven family, Julian was introduced to music quite early on and developed a love for all things electronic, ultimately feeding into his creativity. Devoted to his art and a believer in perfectionism in every note, Julian aims to find ways to dig into music that speaks to his ideals and thoughts. Like an audio storybook of his life story.

After his smashing track release, ‘Calamity’ on our VA compilations ‘Born Instinct’ & his incredible remix of Eartheogen’s ‘Steak For Fossegrim’ track which also featured on the VA remix comp we’re now pleased to be sharing his latest works after he’s been hard at work in the studio.

Making contact with salutations from the Southern lands of Africa to bring forth his debut EP, Ecoteric ‘Zenesis’. The origin of testing the present by becoming one with deepness and emotion through progressive themes, thoughts and feelings, all thrown together by storm.

“The story of ‘Zenesis‘ (a name that inspires aspiration, grace and forgiveness) is a combination of many friends, many of who have helped me with criticism and their dedication and crazy skills for their sound has inspired and motivated me to start something rather special and unique,” says Venter. ” I am super pleased to say that I am finally starting to flow into my path and sound, allowing me as a producer to be able to create hour-long stories and journeys at the same frequencies and themes.

Read More | YouTube Music offering up to R100,000 in funding to South African music organisations

These songs took many challenges in my personal life and my life as a musician and producer. This amazing milestone has shaped me for all eternity. I went through so many phases of character development and evolution with my journey and sound to formulate the Zenesis EP.”

The talented muso’s latest release is our featured EP of The Week. Listen to the full Zenesis EP below and purchase your copy, right here. Tracklist:

  1. Ecoteric – Axile
  2. Ecoteric x Battlefloor – Elysee
  3. Ecoteric – Zenesis
  4. Ecoteric x Hybrid – Metro

Instrumental: Guitar & Voice by Julian Venter
Collaborators and their full names: Battlefloor: Vincent Nemeti | Hybrid: Ben William Watts
Mastering by Ryan Whare | Prehistoric Studio Engineering
Photography by Ally Friedmann Photography
Artwork by Luke Farren | Universal Tribe Records

Like it? Share with your friends!



  1. This track is mind-blowing… amazing work, definitely gonna add to my playlist. Keep up the extraordinary music, let them come.

  2. Julian is a true musical genius. His music takes me on a journey of enchantment.

Comments are closed.