These 11 countries can now travel to South Africa visa-free

South Africa visa-free
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

During a media briefing on Sunday 4 October, Home Affairs Minister, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi announced a list of 11 countries that can now travel to South Africa visa-free

The visa-free initiative was highlighted in an effort to boost tourism in the country. Motsoaledi said that in keeping with the Government’s commitment to “take urgent steps to address the economic stagnation the tourism industry faces,” the visa-free status of citizens from a number of countries and territories will be reinstated.

Read More | The 58 countries on South Africa’s banned travel list

The countries allowed to travel to South Africa visa-free include:

  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Singapore
  • USA
  • UK
  • France
  • Portugal
  • Iran

Motsoaledi said anyone who would like to travel to South Africa from a high-risk country (for business only) may apply in writing to the Department of Home Affairs and demonstrate reasons for their request to enter the country. Applications must be sent to: and must be supported by the following documents:

  • A copy of passport and/or temporary residence visa
  • Proof of business activities to be undertaken in the republic
  • Proof of travel itinerary
  • proof of address or accommodation in the republic

View the current list of high-risk countries (updated fortnightly by Government) and read more on the latest travel news, here.

Like it? Share with your friends!


One Comment

Comments are closed.